mcb1

This was a great and HUGE performance by Rose of Athens.   It was their first at the classic Morton Theater in downtown Athens, and for a cast of 12 or so…there were over 60 costumes!  The theme was classic Shakespearean dress with a sci-fi futuristic twist.   My collegue, Jennie Alvernez was the lead costumer, but with such an overload of designs and limited budget, I signed on to help out.  My main project was the witches.  7 total, but each one had to have at least 2 growing variations of red accents (as the play progressed, the characters fell deeper into evil madness).  The play turned out amazingly and I have to say the witches were my favorite part.  Choreography by Becca Woolbright and live percussion/spooky sounds by Patrick Ferguson made their dances eerily cool.  The hitch to the witches costumes was making long dresses that could be crouched, jumped, and crawled in….did I mention the ROA actors are a very active crew?  I did not get my own photos of the gowns in their finality, but here they are in action.

mcbmcb4

The close ups and more shots of the whole show are found here:

http://picasaweb.google.com/AthensAlive/MacbethWebalbum?feat=email#

What I basically did was some repurposing of thrift store dresses! 

Each of the 7 witches had to wear black tee shirt and leggings under their costumes for quick changes into soldier or other costumes (by quick, I mean less than a minute!).  I started with some plain black velvet long sleeve dresses, a few black hippie skirts and plain black skirts.  Each one got a bit of the sci fi aspect and the red accents with nifty additions like reversable red to redder leather corsets, sheer gauzy elastic red underskirts, or belts and little red accents.  I made most of these dance-able by slitting the sides to the upper thigh, or by slitting the whole skirt all around in some cases.   The belts and corsets all closed with heavy duty industrial velcro which made for easy on/off.   They all incorporated lots of black tulle and the main witch, Hecate featured Purple to signify her lead role.

