2010 , wow!  This is updated as of 2016 on the new post! So many Padmes, so much Star Wars this year!

Link HERE

Padme Amidala Fireside Corset Costume

In 2010, I was asked by a returning customer to help her out with this Padme Amidala from Star Wars costume.  I have since then made several of them and it is one of my favorites!

I started with an eight panel mermaid tail pattern and overlapped my pattern pieces making it only a front and back with wide bottom.  I left the back seam open at the bottom and inserted a large square for the extra volume in the back.  I used a silver satin and black lace overlay, although through the supercool site SPOONFLOWER, I gave her the option of using the exact pattern replicated in cotton.  I took a swatch of the original skirt and worked it over in my art program.  They will make you a fabric of ANY photo you send them (awesome), but we decided the cotton would not look luxurious enough.

The gloves, I just patterned on myself freeform.

I use a faux matte leather for the corset and gloves.  The pattern for the corset is an 11 piece pattern with laces up the back for a perfect fit.  The original has a ZIPPER and if you are using this for submission for the Legion, it will need to have the Zip.

I found a few vintage beaded belts/scarves on ebay which I use to make the long neckpiece along with crushed velvet. Each one is unique depending on which finding I have.   The headbands were found at Michaels!

Padme Amidala black lace skirt back

Happy Customer in the Fireside Dress from MiaLa

Neckpiece close up

