rra

Here is the original costume, above …..  and my recreation , below.

521750_10151971636033928_1175118036_n

photo (44)

I had been wanting to do Rachael for years!  ( Like 10 years!).   This was finally the year, and I got to wear it for 3 different Halloween events.  I am now a pro at the 1940’s style rolls.  This was a quick costume, so it is not as fully movie accurate as I will make one day.

I am not going to do a tutorial for this costume, because it was really just a quick remake/ alteration.  Here is the basic way I made this:

1.  Buy Black Suit

2.  Make the rest of the costume

Just Kidding:

1.  buy Black Suit.  Longer skirt.  Make sure when you flip up the collar, it comes close to closing at your neck.

2.  open collar out to make a high neckline (press)

3.  tailor jacket to be very fitted through the waist and lower arms

4.  add two sets of shoulder pads to the jacket

5.  redo buttons

6.  add black leather/pleather patches.  These are supposed to be some kind of reptile skin.  I did the collar, the shoulders, the neck, either side of the waist, and one on each arm.  The neck diamond needs to be removable. ( I used double sided sticky velcro !!!)  To be movie accurate, there should be 3 on each side of the waist, and three on each arm, and only one shoulder..the left.

7.  the OWL.  I bought a black halloween prop that had green light up eyes, and painted it with acrylics

photo (41)

7.  hair and makeup.  (THE KICKER)

For the hair, I would search you tube for pompadour roll, 1940’s victory rolls, hair rolls, etc.  I actually used a stuffed “roll” under the front roll since my hair is very thin.

THIS page has lots of snapshots of the hair and makeup on set.

Rachael-Blade-Runner-19-520x600

THIS thread has some amazing details of the jacket construction and medallions someone did a few years ago.  Better than most others found online.  I will be using this when I remake this costume.

And finally, I LOVE this artist rendition of Rachael by Paul X Johnson.

blade

