This was a fun project to embark on, and took some major research before even starting to pattern!

dune

 

The stillsuit is a full body suit worn in the open desert that was designed to preserve the body’s moisture. It consisted of various layers that would absorb the body’s moisture through sweating and urination, and then filter the impurities so that drinkable water would be circulated to catchpockets. The individual could then drink the reclaimed water from a tube attached to the neck. A stillsuit, kept in working order and maintained properly, permitted the wearer to survive for weeks in the open desert.

Since this was for a woman customer, we used the screen used one found on propstore for reference:

It was worn by the Character Chani

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After thinking and looking into several different materials and patterns, and a couple of good prop store pics, along with great input from my customer, I came up with a plan.  A merged jumpsuit pattern, celery Moire fabric, grommets, and parachute cord!

dune pieces

I used a basic 80’s vintage jumpsuit pattern and altered it to include the high neckline with collar.  We found the perfect fabric on ebay called a Moire which has the patterned grains in it, but it would not bleach, so I used acrylic fabric paint to give the pieces the look of the sun bleached sweat marks. (they show up pretty yellow in these pics, sorry)

dune 2

I luckily remembered that all of the grommet holes for the “veins/tubes” had to be set BEFORE I sewed the pieces together!  I also added the ruched knee and shoulder pads a front zip and the flap before sewing.

dune 3

Almost finished.  I added pale blue (distressed) paracord through the grommet holes, the logo pocket, and webbing straps at one shoulder and the upper waist.  It also had a ruched waistband.  Not shown in these photos is the webbing belt that is the third belt of sorts on this suit!

dune 4

Close up of the front flap

me in dune

I couldn’t get the thing on my mannequin that has a head, so had to fit the wrap around facemask/cap on myself!

IMG_5367

And FINALLY, my customer (with the hood hanging back).  It was a treat to run into her at DragonCon and see the suit on her 🙂

